Powerlifting Success Doesn’t Come Overnight

When you first try something new, you tend to research creators and influencers who are doing the same thing you are. Except you see their content and see just how good they are at your new thing. Then you get discouraged and quit all together.

Is this a universal experience or is it just me? When I first started powerlifting it was really hard to stop comparing myself to everyone I saw on Instagram or YouTube. When I was struggling to squat more than 135 pounds, I felt miles away from where I wanted to be.

And that’s an okay feeling.

Powerlifting, just like any other sport or hobby, takes practice and consistency to get better. Even though it’s hard to see other people succeed when you feel stagnant or flustered, it’s important to remember to keep your emotions about this in check.

Here are three methods I use and refer back to when I’m feeling a little more defeated than normal.

  • Take Progress Pictures

Progress pictures and videos can feel like a mini timeline of your time with the sport. Take them often, on both your good and bad days. On the days where I feel like my squat isn’t performing as well as I’d like or my bench feels much heavier than normal, I pull up my progress pictures from a few months ago. They help remind me of how much I have improved and gets me back into the mindset of working hard so my current progress pictures can be milestones for future me to look back on.

  • Track Your Workouts and Save Your Workout Plans

Much like the progress pictures, looking back at old workout plans helps me put into perspective how much progress I’m actually making. It’s amazing to pull up a plan from a year ago and see not only how much my squat, bench, and deadlifts have improved, but also my accessory lifts. It also helps remind me that progress does not come overnight.

  • Put Your Stats In Perspective

I love scrolling on Instagram and watching other lifters compete and break records. While most of the time it’s exciting and motivating to watch, sometimes I start comparing myself to these champion lifters. When that starts happening, I try and remember where I am in my journey in comparison to their’s. So many of these people that you may look up to have been lifting for years. They have (and can afford!) a top-notch coach. They might have less obligations than you and more time to focus on lifting. If they are competing in a non-drug tested federation, they might even be using performance enhancers. There are so many factors that set lifters apart and advantages some champs have that you personally can’t control. And that’s okay!

Your journey is your journey. Powerlifting is a marathon sport. Even though it may seem like everyone you follow is placing at National competitions or benching twice their body weight, that does not diminish the progress you have made.

Put your journey into the perspective of your personal progress, not anyone else’s. No, you will not lift like a National Champion the first week you powerlift. But you will see your own milestones and successes. Keep those in mind when you get frustrated with your progress.

Completely new to the sport? Check out my posts for beginners. If you want to follow my powerlifting journey, follow me on Instagram!

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started